Pro Anima

Pro Anima

Our engagement

Created in 1989 under the honorary presidency of Professor Théodore Monod, the Scientific Committee Pro Anima is a council of scientists, academics and members of the medical profession, all volunteers, who work with laboratories to develop and promote research programs without experimenting on animals.

From the shortcomings and limits of the animal model, the Committee aims to promote human health safety through chemical substances that are better tested, more reliable for human health, more protective of the environment and without the use of animals.

« With technological progress and the advancement of scientific knowledge, it is possible to research and test chemicals differently and better than with animal experimentation »

Christiane Laupie-Koechlin
Founder — General Secretary


  • Member of ECEAE (European Coalition to End Animal Experiments)
  • Member of ARET (Association for Research in Toxicology)
  • External stakeholder of the French PARC network (Partnership for the Assessment of Risks from Chemicals)

Read more

The Pro Anima Committee is supported by major French and European NGOs (Fondation Brigitte Bardot, 30 Millions d’Amis, L214, SNDA…)

Our missions

The Pro Anima Scientific Committee :

  • Raise awareness among citizens, political and economic actors ;
  • Publishes a quarterly journal Sciences, Issues, Health ;
  • Finances via the Descroix-Vernier EthicScience Prize research and alternative methods based on the most advanced knowledge and technologies.

The association is free from any political, philosophical, denominational or other subjection.

The Pro Anima Scientific Committee is currently chaired by Doctor Serge Kauffer.

Our history in a few dates

  • 1989 : creation by Christiane Laupie-Koechlin under the honorary presidency of Pr Théodore Monod to support the development of drugs with fewer side effects
  • 1994 : creation of the quarterly journal Sciences, Enjeux, Santé
  • From 1995 : a first conference organized at the National Assembly where 101 deputies spoke out in favor of alternatives to animal experimentation
  • 1996 and 1999 : the first two European conferences on molecular toxicology : 96′ Molecular Toxicology in Sophia Antipolis and 99′ Molecular Toxicology at the Carré des Sciences in Paris
  • 2002 : the association becomes an association law 1908, its head office is in Strasbourg
  • Since 2006 : coordination of the Lucs / Valitox cellular toxicology program ; in conjunction with innovative research laboratories, and supported by a group of private patrons and donors
  • In December 2008 : Pro Anima was selected by the EPHA (European Public Health Alliance) to collaborate on health policies in the European Union
  • 2013 : creation of the Action Fund and the EthicScience Prize which rewards innovative research programs every two years
  • 2023 : the EthicScience Prize becomes for its 10th anniversary, the Descroix-Vernier EthicScience Prize

Scientific referents

  • Dr Ginette Bléger, gastroenterologist
  • Pr André Fougerousse, Honorary Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry in Strasbourg
  • Dr Christophe Furger, doctor in molecular biology and toxicology
  • Pr Bernard Herzog, bio-physicist
  • Pierre Jouventin, research director at the CNRS, doctor of science in ethology & ecology
  • Dr Robert Kempenich, doctor, graduate in oncology
  • Dr Pascal Kintz, toxicology specialist, director of the Châtenay-Malabry laboratory
  • Dr. Serge Kauffer, doctor
  • Dr Jean-Jacques Kona Boun, veterinary doctor
  • Dr Livia Kuhn-Poteur, PhD in biochemistry
  • Dr Sandrine Loublier, Doctor of Cellular Biology, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Biological Engineering
  • Dr André Ménache, veterinary doctor
  • Pr Jean François Narbonne, doctor in nutrition and toxicology, professor in toxicology at the University of Bordeaux
  • Alison Piquet, expert in herpetology and lecturer at the Museum of Natural History, Paris
  • Dr Salomé Pollet, veterinary doctor
  • Pr Monique Skoulios, engineer in biology and professor of chemistry technology
  • Dr Hervé Staub, doctor, former lecturer in phyto-aromatherapy at the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy
  • Dr Christiane Stricker, PhD in biochemistry, specialized in molecular biology
  • Dr Marc Veilly, veterinary doctor

Scientific translators : Elizabeth Heitzmann and Andrew Rabeneck

« Je préfère une ignorance malgré mon inlassable curiosité, à l’acquisition d’un savoir que je saurai n’avoir été obtenu que grâce à la souffrance d’un être vivant. »

Pr Théodore Monod