Descroix-Vernier Ethicscience Prize

Descroix-Vernier Ethicscience Prize

Announcement of the Prize Winners

2 February 2023

February, Thursday 2, 2023

The Descroix-Vernier Foundation and the Pro Anima Scientific Committee had the great honour to reveale the three winners of the 2023 Descroix-Vernier EthicScience Prize.

With a total endowment of 110,000 eur, a first in France for non-animal research and in line with the major European prizes, the 2023 awardees are :



(New concepts and technology transfer)

Dr Agathe FIGAROL – FEMTO ST – University of Franche-Comté

For her project : 3D Glimpse — Tumor-on-chip to fight glioblastoma



(Practical / Applied research)

Dr Julien MARIE and Sophie LEON – Cancer Research Center of Lyon

For the project : Innovative development and application of an alternative method to animals in cancer research


Category : JURY PRIZE

(Encourages from the selection committee)

Nicolas AZNAR – Cancer Research Center of Lyon

For his project : NEXPOCAN — Next generation patient derived organoid for enhanced physiology and cancer modeling


The ceremony, which took place at the Cercle de l’Union Interalliée, brought together numerous actors and officials from academic and scientific circles, associations and institutions, as well as personalities from the private sector, all concerned by the need for development and the importance of recognizing non-animal research for science and chemicals that are more reliable for human health, more protective of the environment and without animal cruelty.

The winners, selected by the Prize selection committee and chaired by professor and toxicologist Jean-François Narbonne, will be keen to present the progress of their work funded by the Prize ; inventory of which you will be kept informed.

In the meantime, the date for the next edition and ceremony of the Descroix-Vernier EthicScience Prize has already been set for February 2025.

The call for projects, intended for French and foreign researchers, will open in 2024.


The Prize Founders thank the Lemarchand Foundation

And the sponsors of the ceremony