Science & Dialogue : Panel Discussion Series

Science & Dialogue : Panel Discussion Series


Exploring the challenges of Non-Animal Methods

Presentation

In order to contribute to greater acceptance of NAMs (reliability, robustness and method validation), the Pro Anima Scientific Committee, supported by PARC and the FC3R, is organizing and leading a series of discussions with key players (researchers, industry, regulators).

In light of the challenges notably identified by PARC as part of its roadmap for NGRA (Next Generation Risk Assessment), the discussions revolve around the following themes : toxicology, NAMs and regulation.

Panel discussions are free of charge, and registration is required. A registration form is available one month before each session, with the opportunity to submit questions to panelists in advance.

Objectives

  • Contribute to a greater acceptance of New Approach Methodologies and Non-Animal Methods (NAMs) for toxicology testing and regulation
  • Foster cross-disciplinary dialogue between research, industry and regulatory operators
  • Identify current and future scientific and regulatory obstacles and solutions
  • Create content to raise awareness and educate the general public about these advances

Panel Discussion Coming Up

Session 1 : Regulatory acceptance of NAMs — How to define criteria ?

It is getting clearer now that if we want to accelerate the adoption of NAMs (non-animal new approach methodologies), there is a need for more global harmonization of the criteria used for qualification of the techniques and validation of those criteria. To ensure confidence in new models, regulatory agencies need these to be qualified, confirming they are robust, that they faithfully mimic human level functionalities and that it is appropriate for specific contexts of use (COU). This panel discussion will tackle this challenging objective of defining acceptance criteria.

On this occasion, we have the pleasure to welcome :

Register here


PANELLISTS

 

Dr Carl Westmoreland

Carl has worked at Unilever for over 20 years and is director of Science & Technologies at the Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre (SEAC) in the UK. A large part of his role focuses on the strategic development and application of the science needed for non-animal, risk-based safety assessments. Previously, he received his PhD from the University of Surrey, UK and worked for 10 years at GlaxoSmithKline. Carl represents Unilever on several external groups including EPAA, ECETOC, UK NC3Rs and Cefic and has previously served on many scientific groups including the EURL-ECVAM Scientific Advisory Committee. Carl is also a Fellow on the British Toxicology Society and a member of the UK Animals in Science Committee.

 

Prof Ellen Fritsche

Ellen is the idea generator and scientific managing director of the DNTOX GmbH. She is also the director of the SCAHT — Swiss Centre for Applied Human Toxicology. Since 2002, her research focus has been on the establishment and scientific/mechanistic validation of human focused methods (or NAMs) with the aim of regulatory application. Her neurosphere methods for developmental neurotoxicity (DNT) testing are an integral part of the DNT in vitro battery (IVB) promoted for regulatory application by the OECD, EFSA and the US EPA.

 

Dr Clive Roper

For more than 25 years, Clive has been an active toxicologist, having developed models resulting in direct replacement of animals. He founded his consulting business, Roper Toxicology Consulting Limited in 2021, dedicated to the use, application, and acceptance of NAMs. In April 2023, he was appointed Vice President of ESTIV. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, European Registered Toxicologist, member of the Roundtable of Toxicology Consultants, Society of Toxicology and American College of Toxicology. Clive is on the board of directors of institutions such as the UK NC3Rs, the US 3Rs Collaborative, and PeptiMatrix (manufacturing animal free media components).

 

MODERATOR

Prof Robert Lee

Robert is Professor of Law of Birmingham Law School. He is a former Head of School and Director of the Centre for Employability, Professional Legal Education and Research (CEPLER). He has acted as specialist adviser to the European Parliament, the European Commission, the House of Commons and the National Assembly for Wales and has worked for the Department for the Environment in Northern Ireland (drafting environmental legislation) and the UN Development Programme, among other things. He has undertaken research projects on the regulation of technologies for several UK agencies. He is an honorary life member of the UK Environmental Association and a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences. He is actively engaged with research projects relating to technology regulation including the Horizon 2020 PrecisionTox programme for which he co authored a report on the barriers to the uptake of NAMs.

Watch the replay

Supported by

Science & Dialogue : Série de panels de discussion

Science & Dialogue : Série de panels de discussion


Explorer les Enjeux des Méthodes Non-Animales

Présentation

Afin de contribuer à une plus grande acceptation des NAMs (fiabilité, robustesse et validation des méthodes non animales), le Comité scientifique Pro Anima, soutenu par PARC et le FC3R, organise et anime une série de discussions avec des acteurs clés (chercheurs, industriels, régulateurs).

Au regard des défis notamment identifiés par PARC dans le cadre de sa feuille de route pour le NGRA (Next Generation Risk Assessment), les discussions s’articulent autour des thèmes suivants : toxicologie, NAMs et régulation.

Les panels de discussion, en anglais, sont gratuits sur inscription. Un formulaire est mis à disposition un mois avant chaque séance, avec la possibilité de soumettre en avance des questions aux panélistes.

Objectifs

  • Participer à une plus grande acceptation des Nouvelles Méthodologies d’Approche et Méthodes Non-Animales (NAMs) pour les tests toxicologiques et la régulation
  • Favoriser le dialogue transversal entre les différents opérateurs de la recherche, de l’industrie et de la réglementation
  • Identifier les obstacles et les leviers scientifiques et réglementaires en cours et à venir
  • Créer du contenu pour informer et sensibiliser le grand public sur ces avancées

Evènement à venir

Session 1 : Regulatory acceptance of NAMs — How to define criteria ? (En Anglais)

Il devient de plus en plus évident que si nous voulons accélérer l’adoption de nouvelles méthodes non animales, les critères de validation des techniques et leur validation doivent être harmonisés à l’échelle mondiale. Pour garantir la confiance dans les nouveaux modèles, les régulateurs doivent les valider pour s’assurer qu’ils sont robustes, qu’ils imitent fidèlement les fonctions du corps humain et qu’ils conviennent à des contextes d’utilisation spécifiques. Ce panel de discussion abordera l’objectif difficile de la définition des critères d’acceptation.

Nous sommes ravi·e·s d’accueillir pour l’occasion :

Inscription


PANÉLISTES

 

Dr Carl Westmoreland

Le Docteur Carl Westmoreland travaille chez Unilever au Royaume-Uni depuis plus de 20 ans, il est directeur des sciences et technologies au Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre (SEAC). Une grande partie de son rôle se concentre sur le développement stratégique et l’application scientifique des méthodes non animales pour les évaluations des risques et la sécurité des produits. Il a obtenu son doctorat à l’université de Surrey, au Royaume-Uni, et a travaillé pendant dix ans chez GlaxoSmithKline. Carl représente Unilever dans plusieurs groupes externes, dont l’EPAA, l’ECETOC, le UK NC3Rs et le Cefic, et a siégé dans de nombreux groupes scientifiques, l’EURL-ECVAM. Carl est également membre de la British Toxicology Society et du UK Animals in Science Committee.

 

Prof Ellen Fritsche

Le Professeur Ellen Fritsche, docteur en médecine, est la fondatrice et directrice scientifique de DNTOX GmbH. Elle est également directrice du SCAHT — Centre suisse de toxicologie humaine appliquée. Depuis 2002, ses recherches se concentrent sur l’établissement et la validation scientifique des méthodes non animales (ou NAM) en vue d’une application réglementaire. Ses méthodes de neurosphère pour les tests de neurotoxicité développementale (DNT) font partie intégrante de la batterie DNT in vitro (IVB) dont l’application réglementaire est encouragée par l’OCDE, l’EFSA et l’US EPA.

 

Dr Clive Roper

Le Docteur Clive Roper est un toxicologue actif depuis plus de 25 ans, ayant développé des modèles permettant de remplacer directement les animaux. En 2021, il a fondé son entreprise de conseil, Roper Toxicology Consulting Limited, qui se consacre à l’utilisation, à l’application et à l’acceptation des NAMs. En avril 2023, il a été nommé vice-président de l’ESTIV. Il est membre de la Royal Society of Biology, European Registered Toxicologist, membre de la Roundtable of Toxicology Consultants, de la Society of Toxicology et de l’American College of Toxicology. Clive siège au conseil du NC3Rs, de l’US 3Rs Collaborative et de PeptiMatrix (fabrication de composants de milieux sans animaux).

 

MODÉRATEUR

Prof Robert Lee

 

Robert Lee est Professeur de droit à la faculté de droit de Birmingham. Il a été directeur de l’école et directeur du Centre pour l’employabilité, la formation juridique professionnelle et la recherche (CEPLER). Il a été conseiller spécialisé auprès du Parlement européen, de la Commission européenne, de la Chambre des communes et de l’Assemblée nationale du Pays de Galles et a travaillé entre autres pour le ministère de l’environnement d’Irlande du Nord (rédaction de la législation environnementale), et le Programme des Nations unies pour le développement. Il a entrepris des projets de recherche sur la réglementation des technologies pour plusieurs agences britanniques. Il est membre honoraire à vie de l’Association britannique pour l’environnement et membre de l’Académie des sciences sociales. Il participe activement à des projets de recherche sur la réglementation des technologies, notamment le programme Horizon 2020 PrecisionTox pour lequel il est coauteur d’un rapport sur les obstacles à l’adoption des NAM.

Évènements en replay

Initiative soutenue par