Strategic Committee

Strategic Committee

For this 2025 edition, we have brought together a multidisciplinary and multi-sector strategic committee to ensure the quality, transparency and impact of the Prize.

 

  • Dr Jean-Pierre Cravedi

Toxicologist, Chairman of Aprifel’s Scientific Advisory Board, former expert at ANSES and EFSA.

This former INRA research director headed the Xenobiotics UMR in Toulouse, before becoming deputy head of the Human Food Department from 2014 to 2019. His work has led him to study the fate and effects of several contaminants present in the environment or in food, including endocrine disruptors.

 

 

  • Prof Jean-François Narbonne — Honorary President

 

Doctor in molecular biology and toxicology, former expert for national health agencies (ANSES, CSHPF) and international agencies (Council of Europe, EFSA, UNEP). He is the author of the book Sang pour sang toxique (published by Thierry Souccar), which makes the concept of toxicology accessible to the general public and provides working tools for all experts.

 

 

 

  • Dr Nathalie Printemps

 

 

Doctor of Pharmacy, toxicologist for 17 years on regulated chemicals. Currently expert at Corteva Agriscience.

 

 

 

  • Dr Marc Veilly

 

Marc Veilly holds a doctorate in veterinary medicine and an MBA (Master of Business Administration) from HEC Paris. He is a director of the Association centrale d’entraide vétérinaire, and a consultant to agri-food and pharmaceutical companies. He also holds the distinction of Officier du Mérite agricole.

 

 

 

  • Dr Hanan Osman-Ponchet

Dr. Hanan Osman-Ponchet combines scientific expertise with business acumen. She holds a Master of Science (MSc) in Toxicology and Pharmacology, along with a PhD in Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology. To further strengthen her leadership skills, Dr. X completed a Global Executive-MBA program in project management and innovation & entrepreneurship at SKEMA Business School in France.

She is the founder and CEO of PKDERM. She leverages her scientific background to drive the company’s growth by forging strategic partnerships and fostering collaborative innovation in the field of animal-free testing. In this role, she oversees the scientific planning, development, and execution of various projects focused on in vitro testing methods for evaluating the efficacy and safety of cosmetics and pharmaceuticals.

 

  • Dr Marco Straccia 

Dr. Marco Straccia helps creating, accepting and delivering economically sustainable human-focused health solutions merging scientific and business strategy. He is the CEO and co-Founder of SCIENCE&STRATEGY, known under the EU registered brand of FRESCI, and together with his team of scholars and business experts study, design and deploy sustainable evidence-based strategies for governmental and private organizations. As an academic, he was associate professor and researcher in Stem Cell Technology and Regenerative Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at the University of Barcelona. His research was always focused on neurodegenerative diseases. He holds a PhD in Neuroscience, a Master in Business Administration, a Master in International Health and Tropical Medicine and a BSc in Biology.

 

  • Sophie Léon

Sophie Léon holds a master’s degree in oncology. With 20 years’ experience in translational research, she is now a recognized expert in the field of cancer histology. Sophie is operational manager of the ex vivo platform at the Léon Bérard Hospital and the Lyon Cancer Research Center, where she manages preclinical projects aimed at testing new therapies on organotypic ex vivo culture models of human tumors from different cancers, in order to optimize tomorrow’s treatments and obtain the best possible response for the benefit of patients, without using animals. In association with Dr Julien Marie, she is the winner of the DVES 2023 prize in the “Development and applicability” category.

 

  • Dr Julien Marie

Julien Marie hold is PhD in Immuno-virology from Ecole Normale Superieure of Lyon in 2002. After working on the immunosuppression induced by Measles virus, Julien Marie obtained a Human Frontier Science Program fellowship and joined the Rudensky lab in Seattle, USA. Now his lab is based at the Cancer Research Center of Lyon (CRCL) and is focused on the regulation of the immune response in cancers and in cancer associated inflammation in the intestine. Dr Marie was awarded of numerous prizes including the Jules Courmont academy of science (2007, Lyon), Bettencourt-Schuller foundation Prize (2011 Paris), the French Society of immunology (2010 Paris ), the European I award Sanofi (2019), and the DVES prize (2023, Paris).

Comité stratégique

Comité stratégique

Pour cette édition 2025, nous avons réuni un comité stratégique pluridisciplinaire et multisectoriel afin d’assurer la qualité, la transparence et l’impact du Prix.

 

  • Dr Jean-Pierre Cravedi

Toxicologue, président du Conseil scientifique d’Aprifel, ancien expert de l’ANSES et de l’EFSA.

Cet ancien directeur de recherche de l’Inra, a notamment dirigé l’UMR Xénobiotiques, à Toulouse, avant d’être chef de département adjoint pour le département Alimentation Humaine de 2014 à 2019. Ses travaux l’ont conduit à étudier le devenir et les effets de plusieurs contaminants présents dans l’environnement ou dans l’alimentation, dont les perturbateurs endocriniens.

 

 

 

  • Prof Jean-François Narbonne — Président d’honneur

 

Docteur en biologie moléculaire et toxicologue, ancien expert auprès d’agences sanitaires nationales (ANSES, CSHPF) et internationales (Conseil de l’Europe, EFSA, PNUE). Il a été expert auprès des tribunaux dans l’affaire de Paul François cet agriculteur intoxiqué au désherbant Lasso de Monsanto.Il est l’auteur du livre Sang pour sang toxique (éditions Thierry Souccar) qui rend accessible au grand public la notion de toxicologie et qui propose des outils de travail pour tous les experts.

 

 

  • Dr Marc Veilly

 

Marc Veilly est docteur en médecine vétérinaire et diplômé du MBA (Master of Business Administration) d’HEC Paris. Il est administrateur de l’Association centrale d’entraide vétérinaire, et consultant pour les entreprises agroalimentaires et pharmaceutiques. Il possède d’autre part la distinction d’Officier du Mérite agricole.

 

 

 

  • Dr Nathalie Printemps

 

 

Docteur en pharmacie, toxicologue réglementaire chez Corteva Agriscience

 

 

 

 

 

  • Dr Marco Straccia 

Marco Straccia contribue à la création, à l’acceptation et à la mise en œuvre de solutions de santé économiquement durables et axées sur l’homme, en fusionnant la stratégie scientifique et la stratégie commerciale. Il est le PDG et le cofondateur de SCIENCE&STRATEGY, connue sous le nom de FRESCI déposée auprès de l’UE, et avec son équipe de chercheurs et d’experts commerciaux, il étudie, conçoit et déploie des stratégies durables fondées sur des données probantes pour des organisations gouvernementales et privées. En tant qu’universitaire, il a été professeur associé et chercheur en technologie des cellules souches et en médecine régénérative à la faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’université de Barcelone. Ses recherches ont toujours été axées sur les maladies neurodégénératives. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en neurosciences, d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires, d’une maîtrise en santé internationale et médecine tropicale et d’une licence en biologie.

 

  • Sophie Léon

Sophie Léon est titulaire d’un master en cancérologie. Fort de ses 20 années d’expérience en recherche translationnelle, elle est aujourd’hui une experte reconnue dans le domaine de l’histologie des cancers. Sophie est responsable opérationnelle de la plateforme ex vivo du centre hospitalier Léon Bérard et du centre de recherche en cancérologie de Lyon où elle gère des projets précliniques qui visent à tester de nouvelles thérapies sur des modèles de culture ex vivo organotypiques de tumeurs humaines issus de différents cancers afin d’optimiser les traitements de demain et d’obtenir la meilleure réponse possible au bénéfice des patients et ce, sans utiliser d’animaux. Elle est lauréate en association avec le Dr Julien Marie du prix DVES 2023 dans la catégorie « Développement et applicabilité ».

 

  • Dr Julien Marie

Julien Marie est titulaire d’un doctorat en immuno-virologie de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon depuis 2002. Après avoir travaillé sur l’immunosuppression induite par le virus de la rougeole, Julien Marie a obtenu une bourse du Human Frontier Science Program et a rejoint le laboratoire Rudensky à Seattle, aux États-Unis.  Son laboratoire  est basé au Centre de Recherche en Cancérologie de Lyon (CRCL) et  focalise ses recherches sur la régulation de la réponse immunitaire dans les cancers et sur l’inflammation associée au cancer dans l’intestin. Le Dr Marie a reçu de nombreux prix dont l’académie des sciences Jules Courmont (2007, Lyon), le prix de la fondation Bettencourt-Schuller (2011, Paris), le prix de la Société française d’immunologie (2010, Paris), le European I award Sanofi (2019), le prix DVES (2023, Paris).